Photo Documentation Part 1 / 2

We have decided to document the contents of our wallets for this project. It is extremely easy to visualize a person’s daily life from his wallet, but it is something that few of us do on a regular basis. Other than twice yearly clear outs to dump the stacks of faded receipts, nobody puts much thought into their wallets and how they are basically slices of time from our lives – just updated on a high frequency each day.

Reza

DAY 1
Balance: $112
Caption: Just withdrew $100 from the atm.
_______________________________

NIGHT 1
Balance: $112
Caption: Obviously my life is such a party. 😦
_______________________________

DAY 2
Balance: $??
Caption: Okay what I said yesternight, I ended up with a last minute Zouk night out. I didn’t want to bring my wallet along because it’s so bulky and all that, so all my cards and cash (if there’s any left) should be somewhere in my jeans.
_______________________________

NIGHT 2
Balance: $25
Caption: As you can see, apart from the $97 hole i burnt in my wallet from last night, i also managed to accumulate credit card receipts. Yay me. :/
_______________________________

DAY 3
Balance: $12
Caption: Went for an awesome supper @ changi v last night.
_______________________________

NIGHT 3
Balance: $2
Caption: Why is it that every single time i step out of the house, i have to spend on something? Especially if there’s school, then i have no choice but to go out!
_______________________________

DAY 4
Balance: $12
Caption: Do I really have to know about everything that i’m wasting money on?!
_______________________________

NIGHT 4
Balance: $6
Caption: A double cheeseburger meal a day keeps the pain in your mind at bay.
_______________________________

Observation/Conclusion:

In this documentation, i feel like i’m the control experiment. Compared to the rest in the group, I feel no attachment whatsoever with the transactions that happen from my wallet. I don’t even keep a coin pouch or keep track of where the coins go! – Which might explain why you don’t see any coins in any of the pictures, just saying.

I’m the kind of person who spends and forgets just so that i’ll be happy with whatever choices I make and not regret it afterwards by keeping track. However, in relation to the very purpose of this documentation, it seems that the more i forced myself to want to go on with this documentation process, the more detached/separated i became from it.

Just the thought of me knowing how much i’m capable of spending in a single day is repulsive. If given a chance, I would rather have no knowledge of my spending habits and continue to be happy with life. Rather than know exactly what i spent on and how much exactly, and be annoyed by it.
_______________________________

Mavis


DAY 1
Balance: $20
Caption: Payday is almost here! Shall live like a peasant till then. Ah, perks of being a working adult. Wallet from Yves Saint Laurent a few years back – print is nearly faded already. It’s a good wallet, really meets my need to stash receipts from 2009 and frivolous memberships to the weirdest places. Also, from the same collection as my Mom’s document holder – bought it for her dinosaur birthday the same year. When was the last time I spoke to her? Must call. Now.
_______________________________

NIGHT 1
Balance: $2
Caption: What on earth did I spend my money on?! BAD PEASANT. Also, realized I have been keeping the vintage/ancient SGD 1 note for the longest time. Antique!
_______________________________

DAY 2
Balance: $50
Caption: Drew one of the last dregs of my salary out. Went to AMK Hub for lunch and had time of life pretending to be one of the cashiers at the automated check out at NTUC. Love the red laser scanner light. Spent $20 on treats. Beep beep beep ~
_______________________________

NIGHT 2
Balance: $10
Caption: Spent $40.00 on Japanese Kit Kats at some obscure little shop. Doing very badly with this peasantry. Nevertheless, atoned by clearing out useless cards and receipts. Wallet is now 4 kg lighter (hahaha).
_______________________________

DAY 3
Balance: $14
Caption: PAYDAY!!!!! Drew out $20 and spent $6 on lunch. Realized that I disliked drawing money out – prefer cash in le bank account, where it will be safe and ripe for online shopping. Also, shamefully stuffed all cards back in after the ungainly ‘lightness’ of my wallet.
_______________________________

NIGHT 3
Balance: $30
Caption: Got my weekly fix at Watsons’ with the award-winning Sunplay SPF 70 sunscreen mist (okay, you can stop yawning now boys) and matcha red bean frappe at Starbucks. Should really stop – I need cash, not calories.
_______________________________

Observation/Conclusion:

Why did we ever do this?? It’s not only guilt-inducing and stressful, I’m now super embarrassed by how un-groomed my wallet is. However, am glad for this experience – found lots of funny neoprints. T’was good for a blast from the past, which is basically what old photographs are able to give you. But since this is a photograph within a photograph… wait for it – PHOTOCEPTION.

_______________________________

Leave a Reply

